Keen gardeners needed to help at a rural property in a village in southern Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 1209 times
  • Last activity: 6 Jun 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    UPDATE: we have now left our life in Italy behind, but we are setting up a self sufficient life in the U.K. which is to replicate what we had in Italy. We are therefore now seeking help from volunteers who have an interest in self sufficiency; growing one’s own food from scratch and living off the land. If this is something you are interested in, we would love to hear from you. You should be practical and willing to help with getting the veggie plots built and up and running. You should be keen gardeners and it have an interest in learning about gardening.

    We have a large plot of land and welcome volunteers to help with the gardening and self sufficient life we’ve created for ourselves.

    We are a friendly, married, young at heart couple but we are by no means in the slippers brigade and are a lively couple who don't take life too seriously. We love our food and grow much of our own produce.

    We have a small rescue dog so should be avid animal lovers as they are a definite part of our life.

    We are situated in a beautiful rural location at the edge of a village, with the house sitting on its own land with the most amazing views across the countryside.

    We enjoy hosting. We see it as a win/win on both sides. You help us with our daily projects so that everything remains in tip top condition: extra pairs of hands are much appreciated. We welcome you into our life - where you will work hard but also have fun and laughter plus plenty of free time. You will be well fed on your work days when we enjoy lunch together after the working hours. Our cooking style is modern, using traditional home grown veggies which we grow and preserve. We prepare healthy meals. Vegetarians are welcome but we are sorry we cannot cater for vegans as we do cook with dairy produce. We prefer hosting COUPLES over the age of 25 but will consider single volunteers if your skills match the tasks we are undertaking. We are both non smokers and do not welcome smokers - sorry!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to share how we decided to move from the rat race of stressful professional careers in the UK to an almost self sufficient life. We try to be as Eco friendly as possible ..... Collecting and harvesting our own rain water; using solar energy for hot water and growing most of our own fruit and vegetables. We'll teach you as much as you wish to learn and ask that volunteers embrace our eco friendly resources.

    Having both been professional employers and recruiters we are happy to discuss and give careers advice and guidance if you wish.

  • Help


    We need help with the upkeep of the grounds, gardens, veggie plots and new landscaping around the property. Volunteers should enjoy general gardening; weeding; pruning; garden maintenance. The vegetable plot and a plan for a fruit orchard requires continuous attention.

    We have some eco-projects underway and there is always painting and oiling of outside furniture; pergolas and barns which has to be done every year. The tasks you’ll help with depends on the time of year and the weather. The list is endless and ever evolving!

    We can host volunteers for short or longer stays if we are in a busy period. Please do check with us what dates are available as we fill up very quickly and can only host one couple at a time.

    HOW TO GET OUR ATTENTION: We get a LOT of requests so thought we would share our side... We like just a few lines about why you would like to share our life having read our profile, what skills you have, what you'd like to learn. Please insert the words LA DOLCE VITA into the title of your message. Writing these things in your covering note shows you've read our profile to here! And please have a photo of just you/both of you, not a group of people at a party.....).

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    You will be living in the main house with us. Private double room with really comfy new bed. In your free time you are welcome to use the gardens and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you wish to go exploring every afternoon, it’s best you have your own transport. On non work days you can take the bus into the local town of Melton Mowbray.

    On your free days you are responsible for your own food. Bring your own provisions if you need anything in the evenings. Bring good working shoes and a happy, enthusiastic approach to get stuck in.

    For arrival arrangements - the closest train stations are Melton Mowbray or Oakham. We can pick you up from either.

    We offer a private double bedroom in our home with your own bathroom; breakfast; snacks and a main lunchtime meal on workdays. This will be served at lunchtime, after helping hours, in keeping with the local way of life. In exchange we require 25-30 hours help per week per person. We are flexible with the hours but usually do 8am to 1pm so as to avoid the afternoon heat. The afternoons and evenings are your free time to explore the local area or simply to relax. On your last day we ask you to thoroughly clean the room and bathroom ready for the next guests.

    Ideal applicants should be 25-65 age bracket (active, agile and fit) with a friendly, mature outlook on life who are willing to help out with our various projects.

    This is not suitable for someone looking for a hectic night life! We are in a rural village location. There is a daily bus into town. It will appeal to anyone who likes gardening, landscaping, painting; art; architecture; meditation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    During your free time you are welcome to work in your room or even in the garden. We have Sky fibre internet.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of parking space

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 696956669825

Feedback (50)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.9)

Experience art and nature living off the grid somewhere in Tuscany, Italy
Come help us learn German in Rome, Italy